,

Cassis

cassis

Frédéric Mistral said loudly: “Whoever saw Paris, if he did not see Cassis, did not see anything!”

Inhabited since Roman times, Cassis is nowadays a lively Provencal village. Nestled along the Mediterranean coast, between the port of Marseille and the city of La Ciotat, Cassis is a very active small town.

calanque-en-vau

Calanque d’en vau

Located in the heart of the Calanques National Park, certainly one of the most beautiful national parks that can be found in France. If you love adventures or if you simply want to immerse yourself in nature outside of traditional tourist activities, hiking in the Calanques is the way to discover breathtaking landscapes.

 

Characterized by its limestone appearance, the rock used over the millennia, has created creeks that shelter small sandy beaches and secret places.

Considered by climbing enthusiasts as a must-visit site, the creeks offer all kinds of walks: from the quietest to the most sportive. 160 km of trails are marked. You can also discover them by the sea, the ride will be unforgettable.

pointus de cassis

Port de Cassis

calanques-cassis

Les calanques de Cassis

The port of Cassis smells of the sun and the mistral, but Cassis would not be quite Cassis, if we did not evoke her artists and her great men. We owe to Father Barthélemy, erudite writer born in Cassis in 1716, the first correct deciphering of a fragment of Phoenician alphabet, from an inscription from Malta. Cassis attracted many writers from the late nineteenth century, Alphonse Daudet, Andre Gide, Paul Valery, the American Henry Miller, the British Virginia Woolf. Among them, Frédéric Mistral (1830-1914) discovered this sublime landscape and will be inspired by his book “Calendal”

And Cassis is a wine appellation of origin, produced in the town. It is the first AOC recognized in Provence, in 1936 and one of the oldest viticultural places in France.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

,

Cassis

cassis

Frédéric Mistral l’affirmait haut et fort : « Qui a vu Paris, s’il n’a vu Cassis, n’a rien vu! »

Habité depuis l’époque romaine, Cassis est de nos jours un village provençal animé. Nichée le long de la côte méditerranéenne, entre le port de Marseille et la ville de La Ciotat, Cassis est une petite ville très active.

calanque-en-vau

Calanque d’en vau

Située au cœur du Parc National des Calanques, certainement l’un des plus beaux parcs nationaux que l’on puisse trouver en France. Si vous êtes amateur d’aventures ou si vous souhaitez simplement vous imprégner de la nature en dehors des activités touristiques classiques, la randonnée dans les Calanques est le moyen de découvrir des paysages époustouflants.

 

Caractérisé par son apparence calcaire, la roche usée au cours des millénaires a créé des criques qui abritent des petites plages de sable fin et des endroits secrets.

Considérées par les amateurs d’escalade comme un site incontournable, les calanques offrent tous les genres de balades : de la plus tranquille à la plus sportive. 160 km de sentiers sont balisés. Vous pouvez aussi les découvrir par la mer, la balade sera inoubliable.

pointus de cassis

Port de Cassis

calanques-cassis

Les calanques de Cassis

Le port de Cassis sent bon le soleil et le mistral, mais Cassis ne serait pas tout à fait Cassis, si nous n’évoquions pas ses artistes et ses grands hommes. On doit à l’abbé Barthélemy, érudit écrivain né à Cassis en 1716, le premier déchiffrage correct d’un fragment d’alphabet phénicien, à partir d’une inscription provenant de Malte. Cassis attira de nombreux écrivains dès la fin du XIXe siècle, Alphonse Daudet, André Gide, Paul Valéry, l’Américain Henry Miller, l’Anglaise Virginia Woolf. Parmi eux, Frédéric Mistral (1830-1914) découvre ce paysage sublime et s’en inspirera pour son livre « Calendal ».

Et puis Cassis c’est un vin d’appellation d’origine contrôlée, produit sur la commune. C’est la première AOC reconnue en Provence, en 1936 et l’un des plus anciens lieux de viticulture en France.

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

0 réponses

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *